In the beginning of November, four members of the STA Executive Committee attended the NYSTRS Annual Delegates’ Meeting. Kat Kelly, Jody Braun, Allison Noonan and Carol Castaldi attended various workshops to gather insights and information about such topics as: Social Security, pension factor analysis, living in retirement, and the stability of the NYSTRS system. NYSTRS remains among the ten largest retirement funds in the nation, as well as among the best-funded public pension plans in the nation with 99%-101% funding ratios (market and actuarial values).

Two active teacher members were elected to the ten-member NYSTRS Board of Trustees. Sheila Sullivan Buck (Rush-Henrietta Central Schools) and Elizabeth Chetney (Baldwinsville Central School District) will join Ron Gross (William Floyd Union Free Schools) as the three active teacher members of the board. David P. Keefe (Hempstead Union Free School District) remains the retired teacher member and currently serves as the Board president.

Related Content